What is the most useful word in the Russian language if I can only learn one?

If you only learn one, it should be “mozhno.” This is the word that opens doors. It means “may I?” and you can literally say “mozhno” and point if you don’t know any other Russian words.

If you are a bit more advanced, you can follow it with an infinitive verb, or a noun.

Examples: “Mozhno eto?” = “May I have this?”
“Mozhno kofe?” = “Can I get a coffee?”
“Mozhno posmotret’?” = “Can I see that?”
“Mozhno vash nomer?” = “Can I get your number?”


Originally published on June 9th, 2014

Leave a Reply

